Air New Zealand has the Midas touch

Air New Zealand is putting the call out to Qantas and Virgin Australia Gold or higher status members in Australia and New Zealand to come and try its fantastic Airpoints™ Gold status - just in time for trans-Tasman travel.
17 April 2021

Qualifying customers will get to try Air New Zealand's Airpoints Gold tier– and will get the benefits of lounge access, complimentary frequent flyer seating, priority check-in and boarding, priority baggage, additional carry on and checked baggage allowance and much more.

Air New Zealand General Manager Loyalty Kate O'Brien says it's been a hard year of being disconnected from Australians and now it's time to roll out the gold carpet to welcome our Aussie neighbours with an offer that's hard to refuse.

"We can't wait to fly customers across the Tasman, so we're encouraging Gold status or higher customers of qualifying airlines to try Air New Zealand with our Touch of Gold offer – from lounge access to priority check-in, boarding and additional checked-in luggage, we're sure they will be keen to try the best that Air New Zealand has to offer.

"We know there is pent up demand for trans-Tasman travel and it's the perfect time for customers to get a taste of our world-class customer experience and reap the benefits of our Airpoints programme – we have lounges across Aotearoa and Australia that our Gold Airpoints members can relax in before a flight."

Customers who hold Gold status or higher at Qantas, Virgin Australia and other eligible airlines, and who are based in Australia or New Zealand, can apply now for the Touch of Gold offer. T&Cs apply.



Issued by Air New Zealand Communications.

Email:  │  Twitter: @AirNZMedia

About Star Alliance

The Star Alliance network was established in 1997 as the first truly global airline alliance to offer worldwide reach, recognition and seamless service to the international traveller. Its acceptance by the market has been recognised by numerous awards, including the Air Transport World Market Leadership Award and Best Airline Alliance by both Business Traveller Magazine and Skytrax. The member airlines are: Aegean Airlines, Air Canada, Air China, Air India, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, Avianca, Brussels Airlines, Copa Airlines, Croatia Airlines, EGYPTAIR, Ethiopian Airlines, EVA Air, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Shenzhen Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, SWISS, TAP Air Portugal, THAI, Turkish Airlines, and United. Overall, the Star Alliance network currently offers more than 19,000 daily flights to more than 1,250 airports in 195 countries. Further connecting flights are offered by Star Alliance Connecting Partner, Juneyao Airlines.

For more information please visit Air New Zealand and Star Alliance and/or follow Star Alliance on FacebookTwitter,  YoutubeLinkedIn or Instagram.

Star Alliance Press Office: Tel: +49 69 96375 183 or email: