Air New Zealand wins Best Airline Design Award for Oceania 2022

Air New Zealand was named Design Airline of the Year Oceania 2022 at this year's TheDesignAir awards, with the announcement of a new cabin product in 2024 and the introduction of a new culinary proposition and sustainable serviceware.
12 December 2022

Chief Customer and Sales Officer Leanne Geraghty says that despite ongoing travel restrictions throughout the last two years, the airline continued to work hard behind the scenes to innovate the customer journey – it's a huge part of how we demonstrate manaaki (care) for our customers.

"In Premium cabins, we switched to serviceware that is 20% lighter, helping to reduce carbon emissions, and in Economy, introduced new serviceware that will reduce plastic dishes used inflight by 28 million every year.  

"Our new international menu showcases the best of New Zealand produce and allows customers in Premium to customise their choices by adding the likes of seared salmon from Marlborough, free-range chicken from Waikato or bacon, and steamed green vegetables or fresh, crisp salads picked straight from orchards and fields in Gisborne, Waikato and the Manawatū.

With many of Air New Zealand's flights being long-haul or ultra-long haul, the airline zeroed in on sleep, comfort and wellness. Zentertainment was introduced across all cabins to help customers wind down with curated IFE content and for those in Premium, a sleep ritual will help customers slow down and rest. 

"Air New Zealand has earned a well-deserved award this year as Design Airline of the Year, Oceania 2022. With the announcement of a new cabin product in the coming years, a strong bold brand, its clever use of safety videos as a marketing device and brand partnerships with excellent design leaders, the carrier oozes design details across the passenger experience," states Jonny Clark, Founder of TheDesignAir.  

"We're thrilled to see the carrier continue to evolve its passenger experience, invest in new products, and continue to be the brand platform for Aotearoa design on the international stage."

In 2024, Air New Zealand customers will have more choice than any other airline. The airline's Boeing 787-9s will consist of a new Business Premier Luxe suite, new Business Premier seat and a world-first Skynest, along with four other options to get a good sleep.

Overseen by an esteemed judging panel of industry experts, frequent fliers, and team members, TheDesignAir have been running since 2012 and is the only annual awards to recognise airlines who truly invest in design, product and brand.



Issued by Air New Zealand Communications.

Email: │Phone: +64 21 747 320│Twitter: @AirNZMedia

About Air New Zealand

Air New Zealand's story started in 1940, first taking to the skies between Auckland and Sydney on a flying boat - a Short S30. Known for its warm Kiwi hospitality, today, the airline has 98 operating aircraft ranging from Boeing 787-9 Dreamliners and Airbus A320s to ATRs and Q300s, offering customers comfort in the latest most efficient jets and turboprops. It's a modern fuel-efficient fleet with an average age of 6.7 years. Air New Zealand's global network of passenger and cargo services centres around New Zealand. Pre-Covid, the airline flew more than 17 million passengers every year, with 3,400 flights per week. Air New Zealand was recently named the World's Safest Airline by the Australian rating service, highlighting the airline's laser-focus on safety. This year, Air New Zealand won Best Corporate Reputation in New Zealand – 8th year in a row.

Air New Zealand has a well-connected domestic business, connecting customers and cargo to 20 different regions around New Zealand. Internationally, the airline has direct flights to major cities across Australia, Asia, the Pacific Islands and the US, and through its strong relationships with alliance partners, offers customers more choice and convenience to connect further afield to hundreds of destinations. Air New Zealand has a particular focus on sustainability and its Sustainability Framework  helps guide the airline's efforts in tackling some of New Zealand's and the world's most complex challenges. Airpoints, Air New Zealand's loyalty programme, is seen as the most valuable loyalty programme in New Zealand with 3.5 million members. It allows members to earn Airpoints Dollars™ and Status Points for VIP benefits in the air and on the ground. Air New Zealand aircraft are proudly identified by its distinct tail livery of the Mangōpare, the Māori symbol of the hammerhead shark which represents strength, tenacity, and resilience.


About Star Alliance

Air New Zealand is proud to be a member of Star Alliance. The Star Alliance network was established in 1997 as the first truly global airline alliance to offer worldwide reach, recognition and seamless service to the international traveller. Its acceptance by the market has been recognized by numerous awards, including the Air Transport World Market Leadership Award and Best Airline Alliance by both Business Traveller Magazine and Skytrax. The member airlines are: Aegean Airlines, Air Canada, Air China, Air India, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, Avianca, Brussels Airlines, Copa Airlines, Croatia Airlines, EGYPTAIR, Ethiopian Airlines, EVA Air, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Shenzhen Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, SWISS, TAP Portugal, Turkish Airlines, THAI and United. Overall, the Star Alliance network currently offers more than 18,500 daily flights to 1,321 airports in 193 countries.