Air New Zealand to help the New Zealand Government bring home Kiwis stranded in India

The New Zealand Government has chartered three Air New Zealand B777-300 aircraft to repatriate New Zealand nationals stranded in India due to COVID-19.
23 April 2020

Flight NZ1954 departed Auckland International Airport yesterday morning, and two subsequent flights are due to depart over the coming days. The Air New Zealand aircraft will pick up travellers in Delhi and Mumbai before returning directly to New Zealand.

A team of Air New Zealand employees, including six pilots, fourteen cabin crew and one ramp support staff member, have volunteered to operate these repatriation flights.

Air New Zealand Chief Operational Integrity and Standards Officer Captain David Morgan says the airline is looking forward to welcoming Kiwis back on to home soil.

"We're pleased to be able to assist the New Zealand Government with these repatriation flights to bring Kiwis home.

"There's always an additional level of complexity to a repatriation mission when landing at a new location. Our teams are highly experienced in managing such a detailed operation, and we have been working closely with both governments to ensure safety is the number one priority."

Three direct, return flights are scheduled between Auckland–Delhi and Auckland–Mumbai between 22–30 April.

Air New Zealand continues to work with various governments on repatriation flights.

India charter details:

Aircraft: Boeing 777-300
Expected flight time: Approx. 15.5 hours
Capacity: 342 seats


Issued by Air New Zealand Communications.

Email:  │  Phone: +64 21 747 320  │  Twitter: @AirNZMedia

About Star Alliance

The Star Alliance network was established in 1997 as the first truly global airline alliance to offer worldwide reach, recognition and seamless service to the international traveller. Its acceptance by the market has been recognised by numerous awards, including the Air Transport World Market Leadership Award and Best Airline Alliance by both Business Traveller Magazine and Skytrax. The member airlines are: Aegean Airlines, Air Canada, Air China, Air India, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, Avianca, Brussels Airlines, Copa Airlines, Croatia Airlines, EGYPTAIR, Ethiopian Airlines, EVA Air, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Shenzhen Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, SWISS, TAP Air Portugal, THAI, Turkish Airlines, and United. Overall, the Star Alliance network currently offers more than 19,000 daily flights to more than 1,250 airports in 195 countries. Further connecting flights are offered by Star Alliance Connecting Partner, Juneyao Airlines.

For more information please visit Air New Zealand and Star Alliance and/or follow Star Alliance on FacebookTwitter,  YoutubeLinkedIn or Instagram.

Star Alliance Press Office: Tel: +49 69 96375 183 or email: